Important Figures in the NSC

Nixon Administration (1969-1973)

National Security Council:

President: Richard Nixon Vice President: Spiro Agnew Secretary of State: William Rogers Secretary of Defense: Melvin Laird

Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs (APNSA): Henry Kissinger

Director of CIA: Richard Helms

Chairman of Joint Chiefs: General Earle Wheeler / Admiral Thomas H. Moorer

Director of USIA: Frank Shakespeare

Director of Office of Emergency Preparedness: Brig. Gen. George Lincoln

National Security Council Review Group (established with NSDM 2)

APNSA: Henry A. Kissinger

Rep. of Secretary of State: John N. Irwin, II

Rep. of Secretary of Defense: David Packard, Bill Clements Rep. of Chairman of Joint Chiefs: Adm. Thomas H. Moorer

Rep. of Director of CIA: Richard Helms, James R. Schlesinger, William E. Colby

National Security Council Senior Review Group (NSDM 85—replaces NSCRG/NSDM 2)

APNSA: Henry A. Kissinger

Under Secretary of State: Elliott L. Richardson / John N. Irwin, II Deputy Secretary of Defense: David Packard / Bill Clements

Director of Central Intelligence: Richard Helms

Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff: General Earle Wheeler / Admiral Thomas H.

Moorer

Under Secretary's Committee:

Under Secretary of State: Elliott L. Richardson / John N. Irwin, II

APNSA: Henry Kissinger

Deputy Secretary of Defense: David Packard / Bill Clements

Chairman of Joint Chiefs: Gen. Earle G. Wheeler / Adm. Thomas H. Moorer

Director of CIA: Richard M. Helms

Nixon/Ford Administration (1973-1977)

National Security Council:

President: Richard Nixon (1973-1974)

Gerald Ford (1974-1977)

Vice President: Gerald Ford (1973-1974)

Secretary of State: Henry Kissinger

Secretary of Defense: James Schlesinger / Donald Rumsfeld

APNSA: Henry Kissinger / Brent Scowcroft

Director of CIA: Richard Helms / James R. Schlesinger / William E. Colby / George H.W.

Bush

Chairman of Joint Chiefs: Admiral Thomas H. Moorer / General George S. Brown

Director of United States Information Agency (USIA): James Keogh

Director of Office of Emergency Preparedness:

National Security Council Review Group (Senior Review Group):

APNSA: Henry Kissinger / Brent Scowcroft Rep. of Secretary of State: William Casey

Rep. of Secretary of Defense: Lawrence Eagleburger

Rep. of Chairman of Joint Chiefs: B/Gen. Richard Bresnahan

Rep. of Director of CIA: Edward Proctor