AFDO Scholarships

The Association of Food and Drug Officials (AFDO) is an international, nonprofit organization whose members are concerned with the development and enforcement of uniform food, drug and other consumer protection laws. Through its committees and the efforts of its Regular and Associate members, AFDO supports legislation, develops and circulates "model bills," publishes information circulars and generally works to aid in the overall implementation of sound and effective consumer protection regulation.

In 1981, AFDO established a scholarship fund with the excess funds from the 75th Anniversary of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act celebration. The "George M. Burditt Scholarship" and the "Betsy B. Woodward Scholarship", both in the amount of \$2,500 each will be awarded annually to a worthy recipient who is in their third year of college.

A third scholarship, also worth \$2,500, was created in June 2008 - the "Denise C. Rooney Scholarship" will also be awarded annually.

The following qualifications and conditions have been established for the award recipients:

- The recipients should have demonstrated a desire to serve in a career of research, regulatory
 work, quality control, or teaching in an area related to some aspect of foods, drugs or consumer
 product safety;
- The recipients should have demonstrated leadership capabilities; and
- The recipients must have at least a 3.0 grade point average *during the first two years of undergraduate study*.

To apply, in addition to completing an application, an official and complete college transcript must be submitted along with letters of recommendation from two faculty members. Scholarship applications must be submitted by April 1st to be considered for the current year's award. Applications may be found on the AFDO web site http://www.afdo.org/awards.

I would appreciate the widest distribution to your qualifying students so they have time to complete the application, due March 1, 2020.

I can be contacted at afdo@afdo.org.

Thank you for your assistance, Joanne M. Brown DVM, DACVPM Chair, AFDO Awards